Could this be yours? 🧩 Reclaiming stories

Finds worth keeping ♻️ Sustainably made, wearable art

Hello, friend. Thank you for being here with me.

With so much heartbreaking loss and conflict still unfolding in our world, you could be doomscrolling or caught in a social media blitz, but instead, we’re sharing this moment. May we honor each other’s humanity in the midst of profound crises and uncertainty. May we seek, find, and create loving solutions. May we be part of the healing.

In this letter, you’ll find…

▶️  Music & stories: my first song collab + discovering the other side of loss + reclaiming what’s ours

📦 Studio sneak peek: making art with salvaged materials

♻️ What’s in store: Wild Honey Words’ eco-friendly offerings

Lost & Found Stories

At a songwriting workshop in Santa Fe, New Mexico back in 2016, I got to collaborate on my first song with Andrea Baker, Malcolm Guite, and Joel Pinson. In a brainstorm session, Malcolm, a poet/singer-songwriter based in England, quoted Yeats’ poem â€śThe Circus Animals’ Desertion,” which references a British rag-and-bone shop—a seller of cheap, secondhand goods. Drawing inspiration from the poem’s last stanza (I’m not cosigning on all of Yeats’ language), we explored finding value in castoffs and misfits. Here’s the quirky little number we wrote, released on Andrea Baker’s album Wild in the Hollow:

This past spring, I got to hike and camp with Black Girls Trekkin’ in Zion National Park, Utah, with those brilliantly patterned rock walls towering above us. What a transformative community experience! I was excited to wade upstream in the stretch of Zion’s slot canyon known as the Narrows. Sadly, the Virgin River was too dangerously swollen from snowmelt, but we did see spectacular waterfalls, including some that hadn’t flowed in years. I was in my element: nerding out over nature, leaving footprints, taking photos.

Imitating tent pole geometry, apparently, while modeling shorts for @wonderyoutdoors (a fellow BIPOC-owned, woman-led company). Hiking Therapy Long Sleeve T-Shirt* by Wild Honey Words. Photo Credit: @sabrinaclaros_photography [*Update 4/24: This item is no longer available.]

I’d found meaningful connection in the group I was traveling with. Then I lost connection to everyone else who knew me…

On the Afterlife of a Galaxy

Facedown on a concrete switchback on the way to Angel’s Landing, my companion gave up the ghost. Rest in peace, S21.

Back in LA, Harry at Gadgetneeds sends me to his miracle worker to see if he can arrange a resurrection. I pray with hollow eyes. The phone doctor tells me there’s no coming back from a fall like that.

If only I’d had my affairs in order. My messages and photos belong to no one now. All that I forgot to save or share has gone to the anti-cloud.

If I could’ve planned which art, which words, which memories to lose, I would’ve Marie Kondoed my digital closet, purging anything that didn’t spark my joy.

If I could’ve scrolled back to a time before that phone was born, I would’ve bargained with the universe: Take 2020—everything from March on.

If I could delete from my life the most painful, least photoworthy parts, I’d start by editing out all four years of high school.

But then I never would have navigated the Narrows at 14, my first trip to Zion. I would not have learned to paint, or landed my first job, shelving library books, or danced alone at prom like a swaying sunflower, awkward and graceful and free.

And if 2020 hadn’t turned so dark, I wouldn’t have chased the light so desperately. I wouldn’t be where I live now, looking out at the mountains I’ve climbed.

After the costly hassle of replacing my phone, my mind kept churning out regrets. The generator’s always running in the rumination factory. Why wasn’t I more careful, more responsible? I’d failed to double-check that my data from the last 20 months was backed up correctly. It had been a renaissance season. In one clumsy millisecond, my archive of special events, thousands of artistic shots, videos and stills of in-process projects, and all my bookmarked ideas vanished. Forgiving myself and letting go of what might’ve been took time.

But as a fellow artist pointed out, creating that art, living those moments, noticing all that beauty changed me. I can hold onto the learnings and the ways I improved my craft. I’m constantly discovering new things. And I’ve always been blessed with an overabundance of creative ideas.

At first, loss looks about as beautiful as a bruise and feels just as tender. But one day, at least for a moment, you’re able to peel off the heavy, gray coat of grief. You may find it’s got a little shimmer on the inside, maybe a pop of color or an unexpected pattern.

A friend once said that when you lose something, the universe regifts it to someone else to meet a need of theirs. I’m grateful for the gifts that found me this way, from a bubble umbrella left in a subway car to a blue bedspread that floated in on the tide. And I hope some lucky New Yorkers are picnicking on my zip-up blanket and wearing my widowed earrings as necklace pendants.

As Rumi wrote, “Anything you lose comes round in another form.” That said, endings are usually bittersweet, and jumping to toxic positivity to avoid pain or discomfort doesn’t protect our mental and physical wellbeing long-term. If you or someone you know could use some space to process any kind of loss or grief, I designed this journal to be a companion for the journey.

When I’ve let myself grieve instead of minimizing losses, I’ve moved on in a healthier way from relationships, jobs, and living situations that didn’t work out. Part of my deep work is believing nothing is wasted and trusting I’ll find a better match down the road. Pursuing those connections and opportunities has given me priceless experiences and insight into what I need, value, and deserve as well as what I want to (and am able to) invest.

coat check tickets + valet parking tag

Reclaiming What’s Ours

Reclaim: to recover what was lost; to rescue the discarded; to cultivate wasteland or to restore to a natural state

Making art can be a powerful act of reclaiming space and time, owning our stories and our identities, and asserting our agency with our bodies and our voices.

When we embrace a part of our authentic selves that we had abandoned as a survival strategy—buried or tried to amputate to avoid harm and earn acceptance—we’re choosing courageous self-love, regardless of the fallout. When we succeed in regaining what was taken from us (or anything we were led to believe we had to give up), that’s worth celebrating with each other.

Sneak Peek: Eco-Friendly Art

Here’s a mixed media landscape piece I’m creating out of cardboard boxes, a shingle torn from my roof in a windstorm, dryer sheets, burned wooden matches, feathers, crayon rubbings on handmade paper and colored cardstock, metallic nail polish, wrapping paper, and an envelope’s silver lining.

“Home of the Brave” (tentative title)

Why I love working with salvaged materials:

  • Reduces environmental waste

  • Removes barriers to my creative practice: I can use what’s accessible to me in any moment

  • Costs little or nothing, frees me from scarcity fears

  • Lowers the stakes: I take more spontaneous risks and follow my intuition instead of overthinking or being precious with materials

  • Spurs me to reimagine the ordinary and to experiment with different techniques

Try this: Pieces of the Past Remix (reprise art prompt)

Btw, special thanks to all of you who made the What You Make of It Reclaimed Art Journal one of my bestsellers!

Sustainability looks good on you.

I’ve built my boutique, Wild Honey Words, on the core values of creative care, authentic connection, diversity, and sustainability. To minimize waste and avoid overproduction, every item is custom made as soon as you order it.

Our eco-friendly line, which I’m always seeking to expand, offers reusable water bottles and bags (including organic cotton totes), apparel and accessories sewn from organic, salvaged, or recycled fabric, and artwork framed with wood from renewable forests.

Kitchen Royalty Embroidered Organic Cotton Apron* + packaging [*Update 4/24: This item is no longer available.]

I’m all about reusing household items wherever possible. Repurposing a quilted crystal jelly jar as a water glass inspired me to turn a photography study into the fabric design below.

Fire & Ice Slim Silhouette Beanie [*Update 4/24: This item is no longer available.]

And to commemorate 15 years of energy-saving public transportation rides (reducing pollution in NYC, Boston, Chicago, LA, and beyond), I designed this sturdy, reusable bag:

Thanks for riding with me! And keep looking for the good stuff—you’ll definitely find it.

Happy treasure hunting,

Emily Ruth Hazel (she/her)

P.S. Want the Wordbuzz delivered?