Podcast poems & Honey pairings 🐝

What Trader Joe’s taught me about being human

Pop of Personality Wine & Beverage Tumbler and Cork-Backed Coaster [Update 4/24: These Wild Honey items are no longer available.]

Thanks for coming over! Hope you brought an appetite.

Once upon a time, I was a dining hall matchmaker. I had a knack for scoping out all the different food stations, gathering ingredients that complemented each other, and pairing them in unexpected ways. (My friends told me I could write a cookbook for college kids trying to make the most of their meal plans.) I still love all kinds of cross-pollinating.

TODAY’S SPECIALS

MAIN DISH: my podcast debut (interview + reading)

PARTY PLATTER: poems paired with Wild Honey Words goodies

DESSERT: a Trader Joe’s-inspired recipe for meaningful work

PRESS PLAY: Podcast Feature

As a longtime Rattle magazine subscriber, I was stoked to chat with the editor, Timothy Green, in a livestream interview (hello, stretching zone!) as a Rattlecast* guest.

Tune in for real talk about my process (writing and entrepreneurship), performance nerves, an antidote to body insecurities, and living room dancing. Sprinkled through our conversation are poems on embracing imperfection, reframing aging, and moving through depression and anxiety (shout-out to my wellness team), plus the spiritual value of Almond Danish Kringle. My segment starts 10:40 minutes into the episode and runs about an hour.

Audio Only: iTunes / Soundcloud / MP3

*Rattlecast is an interactive weekly podcast produced by the Rattle Foundation, which offers excellent opportunities for writers and folks from all walks of life to engage with poetry. 

PAIR IT WITH A POEM: Wild Honey Tasting

Here’s a little pairing menu: I’ve matched each poem I read on the podcast with a thematically-related item from Wild Honey Words. Enjoy!

POEM #1: “Here’s to Being Human”

POEM 2: “This River Has a Mind of Its Own”

→ Pair it with the Jazz Flows Through Our Veins Metal Print, Thousand Rivers Duffel, or Keep On Moving Longline Sports Bra.* [Update 4/24: This item is no longer available.]

POEM #3: “Arrhythmia”

POEM #4: “Self-Portrait, 1984-2023 / Reclaimed letters, starshine, brown clay / Dimensions variable / Not for sale”

→ Pair it with our Royal Treatment Slides. [Update 4/24: This item is no longer available.]

POEM #5: “The Art of Making History”
 
→ Pair it with an Urban Skylines Water Bottle & Thermos. [Update 4/24: This item is no longer available, however, this quote is available on our hardcover and spiral-bound Urban Blueprints Journals.]


→ Pair it with the Validation Tote or another unique reusable bag.

GET CURIOUS: Why Make Business Personal?

Fun Fact: While finding my way into publishing at 22, I worked a stint at NYC’s Books of Wonder, the real-life place that inspired “The Shop Around the Corner” in the dawn-of-AOL romcom You’ve got Mail. In the movie, when tycoon Joe Fox (Tom Hanks) builds a big-box store that forces a cozy children’s bookshop to close, he tells the heartbroken small business owner, Kathleen Kelly (Meg Ryan), “It wasn’t personal.”

Kathleen says, “Whatever else anything is, it ought to begin by being personal.” It’s her charming touches and her relational way of serving the community that make her shop special to her loyal customers. Obviously, I’m fiercely hoping for a different outcome with my own entrepreneurial venture, but her philosophy resonates. 

For me, as a writer/artist and an enterpreneur, being of service means making my work personalshowing up authentically, meeting people where they are, and sharing the human experience. It’s challenging, but my creative process feels joyful, generous, and meaningful because it sparks genuine connection, which is priceless.

A few pumpkin seasons** back, I spent a year and change flexing my small-but-mighty muscles in a Hawaiian t-shirt, helping folks make dinner decisions at Trader Joe’s. Once again, my culinary matchmaking skills came in handy. I liked giving customers foodie tips and recommendations. Over a decade earlier, I’d managed a camp store for two summers before living the Meg-Ryan-as-book-queen dream (minus her fabulous brownstone). Since working as an editor and freelance writer, I hadn’t planned to take on another sales job. Joining the crew at Trader Joe’s seemed like a career detour. But it expanded my understanding of the retail industry—experience that turned out to be invaluable because in 2021, aka the Year of the Pivot, I decided to open a boutique.

Ever gone through your pantry/life wishing you had different ingredients/experiences to work with and wondering what you can make with what you have? If you stay open to new ideas and trust your reinvention skills, the things that end up making sense together may surprise you.

**Speaking of pumpkin season… Whether you or folks you love are back to school, off to sports practice, excited for cooler hiking weather, or ready to curl up with a book, a journal, a pillow, and a mugful of comfort—let Wild Honey ease your transition into this new season. From our fall collection:

KEEP LEARNING: Gems from Trader Joe’s

1. The best stories start outside the box.

Long before I landed a job at Trader Joe’s in Southern California, I was a die-hard customer, waiting in checkout lines that wrapped around every store in Manhattan then schlepping All the Things on the subway to Queens. I fell in love with those signature groceries even before tasting them, let alone reaching the register, thanks to TJ’s creative copywriters and talented artists. From hand-lettered signs to flyers and packaging, they do everything with flair. Each product has a story, entertainingly told with a witty sense of humor. Creativity has always been my secret sauce. You could say the spirit of Wild Honey Words was inspired by TJ’s Organic Spicy Honey Sauce… but the recipe is mine.

2. Every day is Bring Your Personality to Work Day.

(So don’t leave it at home or lock it in the car.) Trader Joe is a colorful character: quirky, friendly, upbeat. I mean, what other grocery chain has a distinctive personality? TJ’s proves that everyday routines can be infused with fun when we put diverse flavors together (including people) and embrace our quirks as assets. Now that I’m my own boss, I still can’t say every aspect of my job is an ideal fit, but I get to build a business/brand with a vision and a voice that feel like me. I’ve never found a suit that really felt right on me, though I’ve worn a few (gray, navy, black) and can navigate starchy environments when pressed. I’m naturally cut out to be flowy, bold, and bright. Little by slowly, I’m creating new patterns and learning to shape my work to match who I was made to be.

3. There isn’t one right way to be a person among people.

We all crave human connection and we all have different approaches. As an introvert and a Highly Sensitive Person, I find crowded places and high-contact situations overwhelming, so working in one of the original (read: tiny, hugely popular) Trader Joe’s stores required stepping out of my comfort zone. But in the blur, I made one-on-one moments matter. Sometimes this meant empathizing with customers’ feelings about recent losses, whether they were mourning the discontinuation of a product or buying food for a memorial reception. Care is in the details, in noticing needs, in anticipating the difference a small thing can make. Once I chased a customer into the parking lot and tucked a forgotten avocado into her backpack just before she took off on her motorcycle. I actually got to have some deep conversations while playing grocery Tetris. Connecting with people on a personal level continues to open up to all kinds of opportunities.

4. Growth is a team sport.

Even as a solopreneur wearing an overabundance of hats, I consider Wild Honey Words a “we” operation. I co-create with my Higher Power, partner with order fulfillment and shipping teams, and consult with my Honey Pod—mentors, supporters, and fellow business owners. I’m learning that the only way to sustain my energy, avoid burnout, hone my skills, and enjoy staying in the game is to ask for help and receive support on a regular basis. Healthy collaboration is an essential ingredient.

It’s closing time, but since I know y’all love a sample, here’s a bite of “Everything I Know We Need I Picked Up at Trader Joe’s,” one of the poems I read on Rattlecast. (The title riffs on Roger Fulghum’s credo, All I Really Need To Know I Learned in Kindergarten.)

Thank you for reading and listening! If something here fed you, here’s how you can keep the good stuff coming:

  • Get the Wordbuzz delivered (if you haven’t already subscribed)

  • Let me know what kinds of content or products you’d like more of

  • Email this post to a friend or share it on social media (quick links at the top)

I’m so grateful for your help with growing this community! Your support makes my work possible.

All things delicious,

Emily Ruth Hazel (she/her)