Letting Go, Part 1 — Turning the Past into Fresh Pages

P.S. Love big, shop small! ❤️

From old history, a newfound passion...

Happy Black History Month!

In case no one’s told you today: You are loved and valued. I’m into homemade valentines (which sometimes arrive in the afterglow of Feb. 14, because good things take time). This one’s for you.

TODAY’S BUZZ

My latest obsession: making recycled paper out of unlikely artifacts (aka DIY eco art therapy)

What’s in store: journals and gifts that’ll keep giving long after the roses fade

Looking forward: limited edition chapbooks coming soon!

“Why should Februrary be the only month we celebrate chocolate?” -Emily Ruth Hazel

A line from my tribute to Langston Hughes

Apparently, my marketing style is the silent drop. It works uncommonly well, when you’re Beyoncé.

So, back in February of 2020, just before the world shut down, I flew out to Providence, Rhode Island to present a long-form poem I’d been commissioned to write for the 25th Annual Langston Hughes Community Poetry Reading. My tribute to the Poet Laureate of Harlem was published as a chapbook titled Rhapsody in Red, White, and Blue (The Songs We Stitch Together). I have a small stash of autographed copies that I’ll be making available for purchase for the first time in the coming weeks. Stay tuned!

Just as the incredible contributions, radiance, and resilience of Black folks deserve to be recognized all year long, it’s always the right time to celebrate self-love, friendship, family, and sweethearts by saying LOVE YOU with unique gifts from Wild Honey Words.

Left to right: Your Story Matters,* Brave Enough, and Badass Warrior Queen hardcover lined journals [*Update: new design since posting]

MAKING IT: Parking Tickets, Paychecks, and Recycled Prayers

It started with a flaming orange envelope courtesy of NYC’s Department of Transportation. I’d forgotten about that parking ticket for seventeen years.

Luckily, I’d paid it on time, but unearthing the memory from my collage supplies drawer still triggered a twinge of annoyance. One of the grittier sides of love is the hard work of forgiving ourselves for costly consequences we totally could’ve prevented.

In my early thirties, I funded four years of my life with a two-year stint working for an entity I’ll call The Empire. It was a profoundly unhealthy job for me and I’ve spent the past decade recovering.

Sometimes it’s impossible to get rid of all physical, mental, or emotional reminders of less-than-positive past experiences. I’ve found that trying to amputate painful memories or uncomfortable feelings doesn’t serve me in the long run. Here’s what helps me: Processing through writing, dancing, and artmaking. Changing the story I tell myself about the meaning of what happened. Sharing selectively with safe people. Stuffing stationery boxes full of prayers.

Recently, my friend Kira suggested that I clear my cache (years of prayers) and read those folded slips of paper to remember how the God of my understanding had guided me through the aftermath of my choices. Many of those prayers (about my career, relationships, finances, and self-care struggles) were nearly identical to today’s.

An idea came to me: What if I made recycled paper out of what I’ve tried to let go of over and over?

My first papermaking experiment (not to be mistaken for a love letter to the dear old DOT)

Meditative papermaking gives new meaning to the word “process.”

For me, artmaking is fundamentally a spiritual collaboration. Though I don’t always consciously invite divine inspiration, this time, I wanted the process to be all about spiritual and emotional healing.

I gave myself one rule: Every ingredient in my paper has to connect to the season or theme I’m processing.

Clockwise from top left: shredding pay stubs, soaking a mugful of hand-torn maps, pressing water out of blended paper pulp, sun-drying paper between cooling racks

Surrender to the blender.

Call it magic or miracle, the point of surrender is where the good stuff happens. When I let go of control and embrace the chaos, feeding my records and relics to the blender, who knows how everything will shake out? The same way tornadoes are strangely selective, it’s always a mystery how the blender will remix my history, which details it will preserve.

Wrist-deep in bowls of liquid paper, I’ve watched pieces of my past float to the surface and glimmers of gratitude emerge. I’ve felt the edges of my resentments soften in the warm water. I’ve heard the blender’s spinning blades render the could’ve/should’ves unrecognizable. I’ve inhaled the aroma of lemongrass oil. I’ve begun to remember the taste of sweeter moments in difficult seasons.

colorful recycled papers and blender bottles full of on paper

Above: Raw materials in my blender bottle plus an assortment of finished paper. Ingredients include COVID test instructions, calendar dates, an interview thank-you note returned to me in the mail, sheet music from the musical I’m working on, orange zest, a dollar bill, receipts, worker’s comp paperwork, grocery bags, product packaging, metallic paints, and gold tissue paper. 

Repurpose the past.

I keep refining my process and techniques, incorporating new elements, and making bolder choices with every small batch and often each new page.

A few learnings from my messy kitchen studio:

  • I can’t predict how anything will turn out, but if I set the intention of making something beautiful out of whatever’s in reach, that’s bound to shift the outcome.

  • Nothing is wasted. Everything is an experiment.

  • Whatever happens, I can always make new choices. That includes choosing how I narrate my own story.

  • When I accept the spills and allow for ragged edges and thin places, I enjoy the process more and I’m happy with what I create.

Ironically, the more each ingredient is broken down, the stronger the integrity of the new paper will be. Forgoing the blender—merely shredding or tearing the pieces by hand—doesn’t yield the same results. If I don’t fully submit to the breakdown and reintegration process, the fibers won’t hold together as well in the end. In my experience, that’s how it is with soulwork, too.

But there’s a fine line between thorough integration and over-blending. After a lifetime of striving for smooth perfection (ask me how that’s working for me!), I’m seeing how, even within myself, the inconsistencies add color and texture. In paper and in people, when traces of old patterns are visible, mixed in with fragments of messages taken from different contexts, that’s where things get interesting.

If I need a piece of paper that looks and feels like every other bleach white sheet, I can go to Staples. When I want a blank page that’s a whole story in and of itself, I make one. I try to preserve some of the character of the original components so that each page hints at where it comes from.

Above: Paper made from prayers written on scraps of lilac paper, which the blue and black ink turned to a deeper twilight lavender in the blender. The drying rack is resting on what I was reading at the time—fittingly, Michelle Obama’s book Becoming.

Above: Made with the “liner notes” and warnings accompanying medications that brought me back to life, plus a sprinkling of things that represent comfort, joy, and hope, including packaging from my go-to tea (Stash Lemon-Ginger), a colorful notecard cut into confetti, and seeds from sweet baby peppers.

Above: Coast of California—my first exploration beyond the abstract. Ingredients: gift wrap beyond saving, including from my great-grandfather’s shop (more on that in this post), quotes from Yogi tea bag tags, and a metallic printed napkin (thanks for the dinner collab, Sarah!), each delicate scrap meticulously placed with the tip of a knife.

You can find my bootstrapper’s guide to papermaking along with other Creative Jumpstarts (writing and art prompts) on the Create page at wildhoneywords.com.

Give yourself a moment.

How might you reframe a bittersweet memory?

What’s something new you can create to replace what no longer serves you?

Today can be the day you tell yourself a new story—one of healing, growth, and gratitude.

Keep an eye out for Part 2 of this Letting Go series!

Cherish yourself and the ones you love,

Emily Ruth Hazel (she/her)

P.S. Want the Wordbuzz delivered?